Is There Such A Thing As Personal Photography?

Because I am interested in fine art photography, I have the view that I create my images for myself and for my own enjoyment.  However, I find that when putting my images online, and getting some feedback, however small, makes me want to create more art.  But is this burst of creativity my own or is it something that has been generated from the fact that because another person has took the time to comment on my work that I feel that I have an audience from which I can generate interest in my work?  At this moment in time, I have not taken a decent image for about 8 months and although this is not entirely through choice, I am quite annoyed at this fact.  I have a photo shoot planned for a few day’s time, and although the concepts and imagery are all my own, I feel that I should be producing a lot more work than I have been, if not for me, for the people who would see my work.  At the same time, I think that because i love fine art photography and my images are personal to me, it doesn’t matter how many images I produce within the year and who sees them and when.

I guess what i am trying to say is that once you build a fan base, no matter how small, even if it is one or two people who are “following” your work on any of the available social media sites, then you feel somewhat obliged to keep producing work for your fan base because that is how you can gain feedback and get your work noticed. At the same time, I like to think that I producing images for my own benefit and that it is a way for me to channel my creativity.

Leave a Reply

