Doing Something Different: My Foray Into Beauty Photography

Beauty photography is something that has fascinated me. Because my fine art images see me running around forests and other remote locations, I don’t have a whole lot of experience with using a photography studio. This is something that I want to change. Not because I have to, or even because it will benefit me particularly. It’s just that I want to try something different.

Why beauty photography?

There are two really simple answers for this question:

  1. I’ve been seeing a lot of beauty photographs on Pinterest, which have captured my interest and make me want to try it.
  2. I have a few (awesome) friends and make up artists who are enthusiastic about collaborating with me.

Because I have a bit of spare time, I’ve decided to utilize this and jump into the studio and take some photographs. Currently, I have two very different beauty inspired photo shoots planned and another two taking form in my mind, which I am super excited about.

I think that it is really important for people to challenge themselves and to do something you wouldn’t normally do. I’m not going to suddenly switch and become a beauty photographer but I do feel that by doing a bit of beauty photography, it will give me an insight into using the studio in a different way which will ultimately give me a different outlook on my images.

Also, doing something different doesn’t just apply to photography, you could go and take another route to work, listen to some new music or visit a new city. Anything goes….

What will new things will you try?

 

Leave a Reply

