One Day At A Time

The best thing you can do for yourself and your career, whatever field you are in, is to dream big. There’s nothing better than to set yourself goals and ambitions that exceed, right now, practical means. After all, what is the point of doing something if you’re not inspired?

IMG_1121
This quote, which I found on Pinterest, has recently struck a chord with me and made me realise that I should really look closer to home when it comes to creating images. I often complain to family members how I really want to shoot images at the beach, or in the mountains or in mansions because they would be amazing settings for my images. The only problem is is that I have no access to such places because of time, monetary & travel constraints.
I have now realised that I’ve been doing it all wrong. Rather than think about what I would like to do, I should think about what I can do. A great example of this is that I would love to shoot a conceptual menswear editorial in an abondoned mansion, but at the minute this is not practical. So instead of being annoyed and frustrated with the shoots I can’t do, I’m going to do what I can.
I often forget that anywhere can make a great location. Sure, when you look at fashion magazines, they tend to have editorials which have been shot in the most incredible of places, but that’s because they have the budget to be able to do so.
This is the reason that my latest image, 11.59pm is shot outside in the street at night, the location of which is actually just opposite my house. I didn’t have to travel for miles to find a location for this image or have to spend a lot of money constructing a set. I just scouted around where I live and found an ideal spot. I think this image looks cool. In fact, I think that the location really heightens the sense of mystery within this image.

11.59pm
In many ways, this is also the reason why I shoot both fine art and fashion photography alongside one another. I’m currently waiting for a fashion editorial called Nightside I shot in April to be (as far as I’m aware) published in the June issue of a magazine. So rather than waiting for the magazine to publish it and then release the images, I decided to shoot another editorial, this time a beauty editorial, whilst I was waiting. I’m also still waiting to hear back from some of the magazines I have sent this editorial to. Whilst I’m waiting for both of these editorials to be published or rejected by magazines, I have also sent countless emails to models in the hope I can collaborate with new people and create more work. So, whilst waiting for replies from these models, which will help me develop my fashion/beauty portfolio, I’ve used the time to shoot some image for my fine art portfolio. This allows me to upload images that show the development of my photographic style. It also gives the perfect opportunity to show models my fine art work, which will hopefully mean that I’ll be able to shoot fine art images of models rather than use myself all the time.
I’m just trying to get the ball rolling in as many ways as I can so that I can constantly be creating work that is both visually interesting but varied. The last thing I want to do is to be taking the same image over and over again.
I suppose that I’m just trying to give you the simple piece of advice that it’s all about taking one day at a time and not letting the impracticalities stop you from seeing all of the things that you can easily do that will give you a hand reaching your goals.

Leave a Reply

